A brush with talent

A WOMAN from Woking has been chosen as one of only eight on the shortlist for the prestigious Surrey Artist of the Year 2016 award. Hannah Bruce who is the chairman of the Woking Art Society, taught art for 15 years before deciding on a career detour and to look after her little boy.

Hannah-BruceHannah is capable of working in a variety of styles and genres, but is currently most well-known for her vibrantly coloured food themed work. Her primary interests are in using oil paint to create art that investigates surface pattern and texture, using limited colour. Works seen at a distance give the effect of realism, but up close you can see the application of paint. She enjoys cropping or limiting the properties of an image to its essential forms.

The New Ashgate Gallery invites members of the public to come and vote for their favourite artist. The Surrey Artist of the Year competition is a partnership between the Surrey Artists Open Studios and The New Ashgate Gallery in Farnham. Starting in 2009, the aspirational exhibition offers a collective of local quality arts & craft as voted for by the public during open studio visits. The top scoring talents come together for a programme of events and have a wide variety of works on show.  Each of them offer different materials and techniques – from ceramics, collage, glass, jewellery, painting and photography, to printmaking, sculpture, textiles and woodwork.

During the exhibition residents are encouraged to vote for an artist, and the one with the most votes from public and the judging panel will be named Surrey Artist of the Year 2016.  The winner receives a bursary of £1,000 and a solo show.

The shortlisted artists from all over the county are Adam Aaronson, Hannah Bruce, Christine Hopkins, Denise Jaques, JoJo Rowley, Jule Mallett, Rachel Mulligan and Jim Tucker.

The exhibition will be at The New Ashgate Gallery in Farnham Saturday 17 September – 5 November, with the awards ceremony on Friday 21 October.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Editorial Team