Mount Herman Ward Result – Thomson and Lyons removed

THE drama continued to unfold in the hotly contested Mount Hermon ward as long-serving Conservative Councillor Carl Thomson missed out on retaining his seat by just 13 votes.


Liberal Democrat Liam Lyons (1,104) was also a casualty in the shake-up, with Conservative David Bittleston (1,289), Lib Dem Ian Johnson (1,168), and Tory newcomer Mark Pengelly (1,159) earning the favour of voters.


Councillor Bittleston, who clinched another four-year term, told the News & Mail that victory was bitter sweet: “I am delighted to have been elected. However, I am very disappointed that a good serving councillor (Conservative Carl Thomson) lost his seat.”


Meanwhile, it made for double joy in the Johnson household with Ian’s wife Rosemary recently being announced as the new Chairman of Woking Football Club.


He said: “I am very grateful to everyone who took the trouble to go out and vote for me and my colleagues.


“I am sorry my fellow Lib Dems Liam Lyons and Sinclair Webster did not quite make it – it was a very tough election for us all.


“I look forward to representing residents for the next three years to the best of my ability.”


New man Cllr Pengelly said: “It was fantastic to be elected on to the council and it was a real shame our third candidate didn’t get re-elected.”


Mr Thomson added: “Obviously I am very disappointed not to be re-elected. I had hopes for residents and wanted the opportunity to carry on, but people didn’t want to give one party all their votes.

“I have had a tremendous six years on the council and I am very grateful. Congratulations to the winning candidates.”


BITTLESTON David (Conservative): 1,289
JOHNSON Ian (Liberal Democrat): 1,168
LYONS Liams (Liberal Democrat): 1,104
PARKIN John (Green Party): 378
PENGELLY Mark (Conservative): 1,159
SAGE Lynda (UKIP): 229
THOMSON Carl (Conservative): 1,146
WEBSTER Sinclair (Liberal Democrat): 980

*(10 rejected ballots)

Recommended For You

About the Author: Editorial Team